Community Action Agencies nationwide are designed to address low income needs unique to each local community. Unlike many federal programs that are designed with a broad lens to reach majorities, JCEO is able to address issues that are specific to Clinton and Franklin Counties.

To accomplish this, the JCEO Board of Directors consists of one third elected public officials (Public Sector), and one third officials from business, industry, labor, religious, law enforcement, education, or other major groups interested in the community (Private Sector). The remaining members are chosen as representatives of the economically disadvantaged in the area (Consumer Sector). These 24 members work together to identify and address poverty concerns here in the North Country.

The Board meets the third Tuesday of each month, with the exception of April, August and December. Board meetings take place at 12 noon in the upstairs conference room at JCEO’s main office in Plattsburgh.

Board Of Directors

Public Sector

  • Ms. Jill Abdallah – Board Member
  • Ms. Martha Bachman – Assistant Secretary
  • Mr. Billy Jones – Board Member
  • Mr. James King – Board Member
  • Ms. Jessica Miller, Esq. – Board Member
  • Mr. Karl Schenck – Assistant Treasurer
  • Rev. Rick Wilburn – Board Member
  • Ms. Barbara Zelinski – Secretary

 Consumer Sector

  • Ms. Maria Alexander – Board Member
  • Ms. Shirley Blair – Board Member
  • Ms. Deborah Coryer – Board Member
  • Ms. Renee Frederick – Board Member
  • Ms. Scarlett McBride – Board Member
  • Ms. Becky Preve – Board Member
  • Mr. Pat Sherwin – Board Member
  • Ms. Laura Welch – Board Member

 Private Sector

  • Mr. Mark Bennett – Board Member
  • Ms. Noreen Brady – Immediate Past President
  • Mr. Hugh Hill – Board Member
  • Mr. Rich Holcomb – Board Member
  • Mr. Mark Kaiser, CPA -Board Member
  • Mr. Dave Lawliss -Vice President
  • Ms. Sandy Walker – Treasurer
  • Mr. Keith Wells – President